Shoppers Stop HDFC Bank Black Card Review 2026: Lounge Access, Fees & FAQs
Shoppers Stop HDFC Bank Black Credit Card charges ₹4,500 and gives 16 domestic and 8 international lounge visits a year with First Citizen points at ₹1. HDFC publishes no earn rate. Fees and FAQs.
The Shoppers Stop HDFC Bank Black card is the premium tier of HDFC's Shoppers Stop co-brand, at ₹4,500 with 16 domestic and 8 international lounge visits a year — a serious lounge allowance for the fee.
It also has an unusual gap: HDFC does not publish a general earn rate for this card.
Shoppers Stop Black HDFC Bank Credit Card Quick Overview
| **Card type** | Premium retail co-brand card |
|---|---|
| **Best for** | Regular Shoppers Stop customers who fly often enough to use 16 lounge visits |
| **Joining / renewal fee** | ₹4,500 + GST, same on renewal |
| **Network** | Visa, Mastercard |
| **Base reward rate** | **Not published by the issuer** |
| **Reward currency** | Reward Points, valued at ₹1 each |
| **Welcome benefit** | Shoppers Stop voucher worth ₹1,500, redeemable on any transaction at Shoppers Stop |
| **Lounge access** | 4 domestic visits per quarter (16 a year); 2 international per quarter (8 a year) |
| **Forex markup** | 3.5% |
Reward Structure: How You Earn
The card earns First Citizen points, which Shoppers Stop values at ₹1 each — redeemable in Shoppers Stop stores and online, with no cash-out.
HDFC publishes no general off-band earn rate for this card. The rate table below shows 0% for everything outside the named categories because nothing else is stated anywhere — but that is an absence of information, not a confirmed zero. Spending outside those categories may earn something HDFC has not disclosed.
This card was unaffected by HDFC's 15 May 2026 rate change, which moved the Reward Point cards from ₹150 to ₹200 earning blocks. The co-brands were left alone.
| Spend | Effective rate |
|---|---|
| Everything else | 0.0% |
| Fuel, rent, wallet loads, government, gaming | **0%** |
The missing earn rate is the central problem with assessing this card. HDFC's page describes the lounge access, the First Citizen tier benefits and the fee, but never states how many points a rupee of spending earns. Ask HDFC directly before applying — on a ₹4,500 card, the earn rate is not a detail.
First Citizen points spend only at Shoppers Stop. The ₹1 valuation is Shoppers Stop's own and holds only inside its stores.
Category Restrictions: Where You Won't Earn
- Where you earn nothing: Earns nothing at all: fuel; EasyEMI and e-wallet loading; rent, property management, maintenance and packers-and-movers; government transactions; education paid through third-party apps such as CRED, Cheq or MobiKwik (paying a college or school directly still earns); and online skill-based gaming. Points are also REVERSED if a retail transaction is later converted to SmartEMI.
- Point expiry: Reward Points are valid for 24 months from accrual and lapse thereafter — HDFC states 'Unredeemed Reward Points will expire/lapse after 2 years of accumulation'.
- Redemption fee: ₹99 per redemption.
Fees and Charges
| Charge | Amount |
|---|---|
| Joining fee | ₹4,500 + GST |
| Renewal fee | ₹4,500 + GST |
| Finance charges | Up to 3.75% per month (45% per annum). The rate applied depends on the card variant and the cardholder's profile. |
| Interest-free period | Up to 50 days, and only if the previous month's balance was cleared in full. No interest-free period applies once a balance is revolved or a cash advance taken. |
| Minimum amount due | 5% of the total outstanding, or the sum of 100% of EMI, fees, charges, interest and any overlimit amount plus 1% of the principal — whichever is higher. Subject to a minimum of ₹200. |
| Cash advance fee | 2.5% of the amount withdrawn, subject to a minimum of ₹500. |
| Cash advance interest | Up to 3.75% per month, charged from the date of withdrawal until repayment in full. |
| Forex markup | 3.5% on the INR-converted amount for most variants; premium variants carry 2%. |
| Dynamic currency conversion | 1.75% markup on transactions made in Indian rupees at an international merchant or an overseas-registered merchant, with effect from 15 May 2026. |
| Late payment | Nil up to ₹100; ₹100 for ₹101–₹500; ₹500 for ₹501–₹1,000; ₹600 for ₹1,001–₹5,000; ₹800 for ₹5,001–₹10,000; ₹1,100 for ₹10,001–₹25,000; ₹1,300 for ₹25,001–₹50,000; ₹1,300 above ₹50,000. |
| Overlimit | 2.5% of the overlimit amount, subject to a minimum of ₹550. |
| Payment return | 2% of the payment amount, subject to a minimum of ₹450. |
| Rent payment | 1% of the transaction amount on rent payments made through third-party merchants, levied FROM THE SECOND rental transaction of the calendar month — so the first rent payment each month is free of it. Rent and property-management transactions also earn no Reward Points at all, w.e.f. 1 January 2023. |
| Wallet load | 1% on wallet-loading spends exceeding ₹10,000 in a calendar month, excluding PayZapp, with effect from 1 October 2025. The fee applies to the total wallet-loading spend for the month, capped at ₹4,999. |
| Utility payments | 1% on utility spends exceeding ₹50,000 in a calendar month for consumer cards (₹75,000 for business cards), with effect from 1 October 2025. The fee applies to the total utility spend for the month, capped at ₹4,999. |
| Education payments | 1% on education transactions made through third-party applications such as CRED, NoBroker or Cheq, capped at ₹4,999 per transaction. Education paid DIRECTLY through a college or school website, or at its POS machine, attracts no fee. |
| Fuel transactions | 1% on fuel transactions exceeding ₹15,000 for consumer cards (₹30,000 for business cards), with effect from 1 October 2025. The fee applies to the total transacted amount, capped at ₹4,999 per transaction. |
| Online skill-based gaming | 1% on online skill-based gaming spends exceeding ₹10,000 in a calendar month, with effect from 1 October 2025, applied to the month's total and capped at ₹4,999. |
| Card replacement | ₹100 plus taxes. |
| Add-on card | Nil. |
| Reward redemption | ₹99 plus taxes on redemption through the rewards catalogue. |
| EMI processing | ₹199 plus taxes on retail EMI conversion. |
| GST | 18% on all fees, interest and charges. |
Is the Shoppers Stop Black HDFC Bank Credit Card Worth It?
The lounge access alone can justify the fee. 16 domestic visits a year at a typical ₹1,000-plus lounge charge is well past ₹4,500 for anyone flying monthly.
Everything else is unquantifiable because the earn rate is not published. That is an unusual position for a premium card and it should make you cautious rather than dismissive — the rate exists, HDFC simply does not state it publicly.
Points spend only at Shoppers Stop, so the card suits a household that already shops there regularly. If you do not, you are paying ₹4,500 for lounge access, which is a defensible but narrow reason.
No fee waiver threshold is published either.
Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs)
What is the Shoppers Stop Black earn rate? HDFC does not publish one on any page reviewed. This is a genuine gap, not a zero — ask the bank directly before applying.
How much lounge access does it give? 16 domestic visits a year (4 a quarter) and 8 international (2 a quarter) — a substantial allowance for the ₹4,500 fee.
What are First Citizen points worth? ₹1 each at Shoppers Stop, a rate Shoppers Stop sets. They cannot be converted to cash or statement credit.
Is there a fee waiver? None is published for this card.
Black or the standard Shoppers Stop card? Black at ₹4,500 carries the lounge access; the ₹299 standard card does not. Neither publishes an earn rate.

