CardJaankari
RBL Bank

IndianOil RBL Bank XTRA Credit Card Review 2026: 2,000 Fuel Points a Month, ₹0.30 a Point & FAQs

IndianOil RBL Bank XTRA Credit Card charges ₹1,500 and earns IndianOil XTRA points worth ₹0.30 at an IndianOil pump, capped at 2,000 fuel points a month. What the caps allow, fees and FAQs.

P
Priya MenonSenior Credit Card Analyst
27 September 20265 min read

IndianOil RBL Bank XTRA Credit Card is one of very few RBL cards where fuel earns at all — RBL excluded Fuel & Auto from earning across the rest of its range on 13 November 2023.

Points are worth ₹0.30 at an IndianOil fuel station, and the monthly fuel-point cap is 2,000.

IndianOil RBL Bank XTRA Credit Card Quick Overview

**Card type**Fuel co-brand card
**Best for**Drivers who fill up regularly at IndianOil
**Joining / renewal fee**₹1,500 + GST, same on renewal — renewal waived at ₹2.5 lakh of annual spend
**Network**Mastercard
**Base reward rate****Not published by the issuer**
**Reward currency**IndianOil XTRA Reward Points, valued at ₹0.3 each
**Lounge access**None published
**Forex markup**3.5%

Reward Structure: How You Earn

RBL publishes the redemption rate but not the accrual rate. It states '1 XTRA Reward point = INR 0.30 at IndianOil Fuel Station' and gives the monthly caps, but never says how many points a rupee of fuel earns. Any structured comparison will show 0%, which is a placeholder for unknown.

The ₹0.30 rate holds only at an IndianOil pump. RBL does not state what a point is worth redeemed any other way.

SpendEffective rate
Everything else0.0%
Fuel, rent, wallet loads, government, gaming**0%**

The caps that actually bind

Headline rates mean little until you know where they stop. These are the limits on this card:

CapLimit
Fuel2,000 points per calendar month

The fuel-point cap is 2,000 a month — about ₹600 of value. The fuel surcharge waiver caps separately at ₹200 a month. Both bind well below a heavy driver's monthly fuel spend.

Fuel also attracts a 1% fee above ₹10,000 per transaction, capped at ₹3,000 — so on this card fuel earns and is charged at the same time.

RBL rounds down on every transaction. A ₹350 spend at 1 point per ₹100 earns 3 points and the ₹50 is lost — every time, not cumulatively.

Category Restrictions: Where You Won't Earn

  • Where you earn nothing: Earns nothing at all: Fuel & Auto, Utilities, Insurance, Quasi-Cash, Real Estate and Rental, Education, and Wallets and Service Providers — RBL's own category list, excluded from earning AND from milestone spend calculation, with effect from 13 November 2023. Railways and Government are excluded on some cards additionally. Base Reward Points are also NOT accrued on EMI conversion of retail transactions, including Split-N-Pay and EMI requests placed at the point of sale.
  • Point expiry: Reward Points expire after the validity period RBL prescribes and are forfeited on card closure. Points transferred to a partner programme are governed by that programme's expiry rules, not RBL's.
  • Redemption fee: ₹99 per redemption.
  • Fuel cap: 2,000 fuel points per month — worth ₹600 at the ₹0.30 IndianOil redemption rate. RBL separately caps the fuel surcharge waiver at ₹200 a month.

Fees and Charges

ChargeAmount
Joining fee₹1,500 + GST
Renewal fee₹1,500 + GST
Finance chargesUp to 3.99% per month (47.88% per annum) on both revolving credit and cash advances.
Interest-free periodUp to 50 days from the date of purchase, only when the previous balance is paid in full.
Minimum amount due5% of the total amount due, subject to a minimum, plus any EMI, fees, charges and over-limit amount.
Cash advance fee2.5% of the cash amount, subject to a minimum of ₹500.
Cash advance interestUp to 3.99% per month (47.88% per annum), charged from the date of withdrawal with no interest-free period.
Forex markupUp to 3.5% of the transaction amount. Markup also applies to transactions in Indian rupees at an international location, or at merchants located in India but registered overseas.
Dynamic currency conversionCharged at the same rate as the foreign currency markup — RBL treats dynamic and static conversion transactions identically.
Late payment12.5% of the outstanding amount, subject to a minimum of ₹5 and a maximum of ₹1,300.
OverlimitNil. RBL charges no over-limit fee.
Payment return₹500 for a returned or dishonoured cheque, and ₹500 for an auto-debit reversal where the bank account is out of funds.
Rent payment1% of the transaction amount on all rental transactions (MCC 6513).
Utility payments1% of the transaction amount on utility spends above ₹50,000 per month per card (MCC 4900).
Education payments1% on education payments made through third-party apps — CRED, PhonePe, Cheqedu, Paytm, MobiKwik, NoBroker, Housing.com and others. Payments made through a school or college website or its POS machine carry no fee.
Fuel transactions1% for each transaction exceeding ₹10,000 on fuel and auto (MCC 0032, 2541, 4001, 5172, 5541, 5542), capped at ₹3,000.
Add-on card₹0 to ₹5,000 per add-on cardmember, depending on the card variant.
Reward redemption₹99 plus GST per redemption. Waived on Lumière, Nova, Insignia, Insignia Prime, World Xclusive, Apex, Aspire Banking and Signature Banking.
EMI processing1.5% of the amount or ₹150, whichever is higher, on all merchant EMI conversions done at the time of the transaction.
GST18% on all fees, interest and charges.

Is the IndianOil RBL Bank XTRA Credit Card Worth It?

The realistic annual benefit is around ₹7,200 in points plus ₹2,400 in surcharge waiver, against a ₹1,500 fee. That works, but it is a long way from an uncapped fuel card.

Fuel earning is the whole point of this card and it is genuinely unusual in RBL's range — but the caps mean it rewards ordinary commuting rather than heavy driving.

Against the base IndianOil card at a third of the fee, XTRA doubles both caps — 2,000 points against 1,000 and ₹200 of surcharge waiver against ₹100. If you spend more than about ₹7,000 a month on fuel, XTRA is the better card.

Ask RBL for the accrual rate before applying — without it the card cannot be compared against anything.

Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs)

What is the IndianOil RBL Bank XTRA Credit Card earn rate? RBL publishes the caps and the redemption rate but not the per-rupee accrual rate. Ask the bank directly.

What is an XTRA Reward Point worth? ₹0.30 at an IndianOil fuel station. RBL does not state what it is worth elsewhere.

What are the caps? 2,000 fuel points a month — about ₹600 — and a separate fuel surcharge waiver ceiling of ₹200 a month.

Does fuel really earn on this card? Yes. RBL excluded Fuel & Auto from earning across its range on 13 November 2023; the IndianOil co-brands are among the few exceptions.

Is there a fee waiver? Yes, at ₹250,000 of annual spend.

Cards Mentioned in This Article

IndianOil RBL Bank XTRA Credit Card

RBL Bank

IndianOil RBL Bank XTRA Credit Card

1% base reward

₹1,500/yr