Doctor's SBI Card (IMA) Review 2026: ₹20 Lakh Indemnity Cover, 5X Rewards, Lounge Access & FAQs
The Doctor's SBI Card in association with the Indian Medical Association costs ₹1,499 and includes ₹20 lakh professional indemnity insurance, 5X Reward Points and 8 lounge visits a year. Benefits, reward maths, fees and FAQs.
The Doctor's SBI Card issued in association with the Indian Medical Association is SBI's professional card for IMA members. Its headline benefit is ₹20 lakh of professional indemnity insurance with a 0% deductible — cover that reimburses legal and defence costs, out-of-court settlements and court awards — wrapped around a ₹1,499 card that is fee-free from ₹2 lakh of annual spend.
Important context before anything else: every published rate, cap, fee, insurance figure and benefit on this card is identical to the standard Doctor's SBI Card. The IMA association governs who can hold the card, not what it pays. If you are comparing the two, you are comparing eligibility, not economics.
Doctor's SBI Card (IMA) Quick Overview
| **Card type** | Professional lifestyle and travel card, in association with the IMA |
|---|---|
| **Best for** | IMA members who want indemnity cover bundled with a travel card |
| **Joining / annual fee** | ₹1,499 + GST, same on renewal — reversed at ₹2,00,000 of annual spend |
| **Network** | Visa |
| **Headline benefit** | ₹20 lakh professional indemnity insurance, 0% deductible |
| **Top reward rate** | 1.25% — 5X Reward Points on medical supplies, travel bookings and international spends |
| **Base rate** | 0.25% — 1 Reward Point per ₹100 |
| **Reward type** | Reward Points, worth ₹0.25 each (4 RP = ₹1) |
| **Welcome benefit** | ₹1,500 Yatra.com e-gift voucher |
| **Milestone** | ₹5,000 e-gift voucher at ₹5 lakh annual spend |
| **Lounge access** | 4 domestic + 4 international visits a year |
Eligibility Criteria
This variant is issued in association with the Indian Medical Association, India's largest body of practitioners of modern medicine. SBI Card publishes no age or income threshold on its product pages and does not state whether current IMA membership is a hard requirement or simply the distribution channel — worth confirming with your IMA branch or SBI Card before applying. Indian residency and a valid PAN are required, as for any SBI credit card. Add-on cards are free.
Doctors who are not IMA members are served by the standard Doctor's SBI Card, which carries the same benefits.
The ₹20 Lakh Professional Indemnity Cover
This is why the card exists. The cover reimburses:
- Legal and defence costs arising from a claim of professional negligence
- Out-of-court settlement expenses
- Court awards made against the practitioner
with a 0% deductible on the sum insured — the policy responds from the first rupee rather than after an excess.
The value case is simple arithmetic. A standalone ₹20 lakh indemnity policy for an Indian medical practitioner costs several thousand rupees a year. This card's fee is ₹1,499 and is reversed entirely at ₹2 lakh of annual spend — a level most practising doctors reach on routine practice expenses. For a member who would buy indemnity cover regardless, the card can be net-positive before it earns a single Reward Point.
Two honest caveats. SBI does not publish the full policy wording on its product pages, so the exclusions, insurer and claim process should be confirmed before you rely on this as your only cover. And a bundled card benefit is not a substitute for a policy advised and sized to your specialty and claim exposure — treat it as a valuable floor.
Reward Structure
Reward Points are worth ₹0.25 each — 4 points redeem against ₹1 of the outstanding bill. Every rate below is stated after that conversion.
| Spend | Points | Effective rate |
|---|---|---|
| Medical supplies | 5 RP per ₹100 | **1.25%** |
| Travel bookings | 5 RP per ₹100 | **1.25%** |
| International spends | 5 RP per ₹100 | **1.25%** |
| **All spends on 1 July (Doctor's Day)** | 5 RP per ₹100 | **1.25%** |
| Everything else | 1 RP per ₹100 | **0.25%** |
| Fuel | Nil | **0%** |
Both 5X bands are capped at 7,500 Reward Points a month — two separate caps, not one shared pool. SBI's T&C says the medical-and-travel band and the international band "each will have a maximum cap of 7,500 Reward Points per month". Each binds at ₹1,50,000 of such spend, after which 1 Reward Point per ₹100 continues. The Doctor's Day rate has no published cap.
The Doctor's Day rate is a date, not a category. Every spend made on 1 July earns 5X regardless of merchant — worth timing a large planned purchase around.
International spends earn 5X against a 3.5% forex markup. Earning 1.25% on a transaction that costs 3.5% in markup still leaves you 2.25% down. The accelerated rate softens foreign spending; it does not make the card good at it.
Category follows the merchant's MCC. "Medical supplies" and "travel bookings" resolve to the codes the card network assigns — pharmacies, medical and dental equipment, hospitals, labs and clinics; airlines, hotels, travel agents and car rental. SBI names the categories without publishing the codes, so a merchant billing under an unexpected MCC may not earn the accelerated rate.
Welcome and Milestone Benefits
Welcome: a ₹1,500 e-gift voucher from Yatra.com. The fee back in year one.
Milestone: a ₹5,000 e-gift voucher at ₹5,00,000 of annual spend, from Yatra.com, Bata or Shoppers Stop.
Note the gap. The fee reversal sits at ₹2 lakh; the voucher sits at ₹5 lakh. A cardholder optimising only for the fee stops well short of the voucher. If your annual spend is already near ₹4 lakh, the marginal push to ₹5 lakh is worth ₹5,000.
Lounge Access
- 4 complimentary domestic airport lounge accesses per year, maximum 1 per quarter, on the Visa programme
- 4 complimentary international airport lounge accesses per year, maximum 2 per quarter, through Priority Pass, with access to 1,000+ lounges worldwide
Beyond the complimentary visits, a Priority Pass lounge costs US$27 plus taxes.
Four genuinely complimentary international visits at a ₹1,499 fee is generous — most SBI cards at this price give domestic access only. For a member attending overseas conferences it is one of the card's more practical benefits.
Worked Example
Illustrative, at ₹40,000 a month:
| Category | Monthly spend | Points | Value |
|---|---|---|---|
| Medical supplies and pharmacy | ₹12,000 | 600 | ₹150 |
| Travel bookings | ₹6,000 | 300 | ₹75 |
| Everything else | ₹22,000 | 220 | ₹55 |
| **Monthly total** | **₹40,000** | **1,120** | **₹280 — 0.7%** |
Annualised: ₹3,360 in Reward Points on ₹4.8 lakh of spend, plus the ₹1,500 welcome voucher in year one and the ₹5,000 milestone voucher, with the ₹1,499 fee reversed.
The rewards are modest, and that is the point — the indemnity cover is worth several times more to anyone who would otherwise buy it.
Where You Won't Earn
| Excluded | Note |
|---|---|
| **Fuel** | MCC 5172, 5541, 5542, 5983 — excluded across SBI's range |
| **Cash advances** | 2.5% fee, minimum ₹500, interest from day one |
The fuel surcharge waiver is the whole fuel benefit: 1% reversed on transactions between ₹500 and ₹4,000, capped at ₹250 per statement cycle. Fuel earns no points.
SBI's range-wide transaction fees apply: ₹199 per rent payment, 1% on wallet loads above ₹1,000, 1% on utility payments once the cycle total passes ₹50,000, and 1% on education payments through third-party apps (direct payments to an institution attract nothing).
Fees and Charges
| Charge | Amount |
|---|---|
| Joining fee | ₹1,499 + GST |
| Renewal fee | ₹1,499 + GST, reversed at ₹2,00,000 annual spend |
| Add-on card fee | Nil |
| Finance charge | 3.75% per month — **45% per annum** |
| Interest-free period | 20 to 50 days; none if any part of last month's bill is unpaid |
| Forex markup | 3.5% |
| Cash advance fee | 2.5%, minimum ₹500 |
| Fuel surcharge waiver | 1% on ₹500–₹4,000, max ₹250 per cycle |
| Late payment | ₹100 to ₹1,300 by balance |
| Overlimit | 2.5%, minimum ₹600 |
| Reward redemption fee | ₹99 on physical products, statement credit and physically-sent vouchers |
| GST | 18% on all of the above |
Is the Doctor's SBI Card (IMA) Worth It?
Yes, if you are an IMA member who would buy indemnity cover anyway. ₹20 lakh of cover with a 0% deductible, for a fee reversed at ₹2 lakh of spend, is the case for this card and it is a strong one.
Yes, if you travel for work. Eight lounge visits a year across domestic and international, plus 5X on travel bookings, is a reasonable package at this fee.
No, if you want a rewards card. A 0.25% base rate is weak. SimplySAVE returns 1.67% on four everyday categories at ₹499; the CASHBACK SBI Card returns 5% online. Neither includes indemnity cover.
Choose between this and the standard Doctor's SBI Card on eligibility, not economics — they are the same card commercially.
Frequently Asked Questions
What is the annual fee of the Doctor's SBI Card (IMA)? ₹1,499 plus GST, on joining and renewal. The renewal fee is reversed on ₹2,00,000 of annual spend in the previous year.
How is this card different from the standard Doctor's SBI Card? In published terms, only in the association. Every rate, cap, fee, insurance figure, milestone and lounge entitlement is identical. The IMA association governs distribution and eligibility rather than what the card pays.
Do I need to be an IMA member to hold it? The card is issued in association with the Indian Medical Association. SBI Card does not state on its product pages whether current membership is a hard requirement, so confirm with your IMA branch or with SBI Card before applying.
How much indemnity cover is included? ₹20 lakh, with a 0% deductible, reimbursing legal and defence costs, out-of-court settlements and court awards. The full policy wording is not published on SBI's product pages.
What earns 5X Reward Points? Medical supplies, travel bookings, international spends, and every spend made on 1 July — Doctor's Day — whatever the merchant. At 4 points to the rupee, 5X is 1.25%.
Are the reward rates capped? Yes — 7,500 Reward Points a month on the medical-and-travel band, and a separate 7,500 a month on international spends. Each binds at ₹1,50,000 of such spend. SBI's product page omits both; they come from the card's T&C booklet.
How many lounge visits does it give? Four domestic a year (max 1 per quarter) and four international a year (max 2 per quarter, via Priority Pass). Beyond those, a Priority Pass visit costs US$27 plus taxes.

