Tata Card SELECT Review 2026: ₹9,000 of Vouchers, 3% on Grocery and Dining & FAQs
Tata Card SELECT costs ₹2,999 and pays up to 5% at Tata outlets, 3% on grocery, dining and international spends and 1% elsewhere in Empower Points worth ₹1 each — plus ₹9,000 of milestone vouchers. Full maths, fees and FAQs.
The Tata Card SELECT is issued under the Tata Card brand rather than through SBI Card's main catalogue. It costs ₹2,999, reversed at ₹2 lakh of annual spend, and pays in Empower Points worth ₹1 each — so its headline percentages are true percentages, not points at 25 paise.
Its real engine is the voucher ladder: three ₹3,000 e-gift vouchers at ₹2 lakh, ₹4 lakh and ₹5 lakh of annual spend — ₹9,000 a year — on top of a ₹3,000 welcome voucher.
Tata Card SELECT Quick Overview
| **Card type** | Premium retail co-brand — Tata Card |
|---|---|
| **Best for** | Tata shoppers spending ₹4–5 lakh a year who will chase the voucher ladder |
| **Joining / annual fee** | ₹2,999 + GST, same on renewal — reversed at ₹2,00,000 of annual spend |
| **Network** | Visa, Mastercard or RuPay |
| **Tata outlets** | **Up to 5%** — a ceiling, not a rate |
| **Croma and croma.com** | **2%** |
| **Grocery, departmental, dining, international** | **3%** — 3X Empower Points |
| **Everything else** | **1%** — 1 Empower Point per ₹100 |
| **Reward value** | **₹1 per Empower Point** — published by Tata |
| **Welcome benefit** | ₹3,000 e-gift voucher |
| **Milestones** | ₹3,000 voucher at each of ₹2L, ₹4L and ₹5L — **₹9,000** |
| **Lounge access** | None |
Eligibility Criteria
Tata Card publishes no age or income threshold. Approval rests on the issuer's own assessment. Indian residency and a valid PAN are required. Add-on cards are free.
Note that this card is issued at tatacard.com rather than through SBI Card's main catalogue, and its published pages are noticeably thinner than SBI's own — several standard details (the fuel waiver band and cap, reward expiry) are simply not stated.
"Up to 5% at Tata Outlets" Is a Ceiling, Not a Rate
The most important thing to get right about this card. Tata's own wording is "up to 5% value back on Tata outlets" — and it does not publish the per-outlet schedule.
So the 5% may apply at some Tata brands and not others, and at what rate elsewhere is unstated. Any comparison tool applying a flat 5% will overstate this card, possibly substantially.
What is published:
- Croma and croma.com: 2% — stated outright
- Grocery, departmental stores, dining and international spends: 3%
- Everything else: 1%
Treat the 3% band as the card's reliable accelerated rate and the "up to 5%" as an upside to verify at the till.
Reward Structure
| Spend | Rate | Cap |
|---|---|---|
| **Tata outlets** | **Up to 5%** (ceiling) | **None** |
| **Grocery, departmental stores, dining, international** | **3%** | **None** |
| **Croma and croma.com** | **2%** | **None** |
| Everything else | **1%** | **None** |
| Fuel, cash advances | **0%** | — |
No caps on any rate, which is a genuine strength at a 3% headline.
Empower Points are worth ₹1 each — published, not inferred. Tata states "1 Empower Point = Re. 1" outright, making these worth four times an ordinary SBI Reward Point.
A 1% uncapped base rate is strong — better than SBI Card PRIME's 0.5% and ELITE's 0.5%, and it applies to everything.
Two modelling notes:
- The 3X category codes are inferred. Tata names "departmental and grocery stores, dining" without publishing merchant category codes, so the grouping follows SBI's published codes for the same category names.
- The international element of the 3% band cannot be modelled — geography is not a merchant category. And with a 3.5% forex markup, earning 3% abroad still leaves you 0.5% down.
The Voucher Ladder Is the Card
Welcome: a ₹3,000 e-gift voucher from Yatra, Hush Puppies/Bata, Aditya Birla Fashion or Westside. That covers the ₹2,999 fee in year one.
Milestones — three rungs, all ₹3,000:
| Annual spend | Benefit | Value |
|---|---|---|
| ₹2,00,000 | Anniversary e-gift voucher | ₹3,000 |
| ₹4,00,000 | E-gift voucher | ₹3,000 |
| ₹5,00,000 | E-gift voucher | ₹3,000 |
| **All three** | **₹9,000** |
All from the same brand list — Yatra, Hush Puppies/Bata, Westside and Aditya Birla Retail.
One condition worth catching: the anniversary voucher is earned on the PREVIOUS year's spend, so a first-year cardholder gets nothing from it. The ₹3,000 welcome voucher covers year one instead.
Note the ₹2 lakh rung coincides with the fee-reversal threshold, which is a sensible design — clear ₹2 lakh and you get both the fee back and a ₹3,000 voucher. The ₹4 lakh and ₹5 lakh rungs sit close together, so a cardholder at ₹4.2 lakh has only ₹80,000 more to find for another ₹3,000 — an effective 3.75% on that stretch.
No Lounge Access
Worth stating plainly: neither Tata Card has a lounge programme or insurance. At ₹2,999 that is a real gap against SBI's own PRIME at the same price, which gives eight domestic and four international visits.
Worked Example
Illustrative, at ₹40,000 a month — ₹4.8 lakh a year, clearing two milestone rungs:
| Category | Monthly spend | Rate | Value |
|---|---|---|---|
| Grocery, departmental, dining | ₹14,000 | 3% | ₹420 |
| Croma | ₹2,000 | 2% | ₹40 |
| Westside, Tanishq, Tata CLiQ | ₹4,000 | up to 5% | ₹200 (at ceiling) |
| Everything else | ₹18,000 | 1% | ₹180 |
| Fuel | ₹2,000 | 0% | ₹0 |
| **Monthly total** | **₹40,000** | **₹840 — 2.1%** |
Annual tally:
| Empower Points earned | ₹10,080 |
|---|---|
| Milestones at ₹2 lakh and ₹4 lakh | ₹6,000 |
| Welcome voucher (year one) | ₹3,000 |
| **Year-one total** | **₹19,080** |
| **Steady state** | **₹16,080** |
| Annual fee | **₹0** (reversed at ₹2 lakh) |
| **Effective return** | **3.35% of spend** |
Push to ₹5 lakh and the third rung adds ₹3,000 — the marginal ₹20,000 returns 15%.
Caveat: the Tata-outlet line above assumes the full 5%. If the actual schedule pays less at your outlets, that ₹2,400 a year falls.
Where You Won't Earn
| Excluded | Note |
|---|---|
| **Fuel** | MCC 5172, 5541, 5542, 5983 |
| **Cash advances** | 2.5% fee, minimum ₹500, interest from day one |
The fuel surcharge waiver is the whole fuel benefit — but Tata Card publishes the benefit without stating the transaction band or the cap, which is unusual. Assume the standard ₹500–₹3,000 band and ₹100 cycle cap unless the terms say otherwise.
The range-wide transaction fees apply: ₹199 per rent payment, 1% on wallet loads above ₹1,000, 1% on utility payments once the cycle total passes ₹50,000, and 1% on education payments through third-party apps.
Fees and Charges
| Charge | Amount |
|---|---|
| Joining fee | ₹2,999 + GST |
| Renewal fee | ₹2,999 + GST, reversed at ₹2,00,000 annual spend |
| Add-on card fee | Nil |
| Finance charge | 3.75% per month — **45% per annum** |
| Interest-free period | 20 to 50 days; none if any part of last month's bill is unpaid |
| Forex markup | 3.5% |
| Cash advance fee | 2.5%, minimum ₹500 |
| Fuel surcharge waiver | 1%, band and cap **not published** |
| Late payment | ₹100 to ₹1,300 by balance |
| Overlimit | 2.5%, minimum ₹600 |
| GST | 18% on all of the above |
No reward expiry is published on Tata Card's pages either. Empower Points are stated elsewhere to expire two years from accrual, but confirm before letting a balance build.
SELECT vs the Standard Tata Card
| Tata Card | **Tata Card SELECT** | |
|---|---|---|
| Annual fee | ₹499 | ₹2,999 |
| Fee reversal | ₹1,00,000 | ₹2,00,000 |
| Tata outlets | Up to 5% | Up to 5% |
| Croma | 1.5% | **2%** |
| 3X band | Grocery, departmental | **+ dining, international** |
| Base rate | 1% | 1% |
| Welcome | 500 points (₹500) | **₹3,000 voucher** |
| Milestones | Fee waiver only | **₹9,000 across three rungs** |
| Lounge | None | None |
The base rate and the Tata-outlet ceiling are identical on both cards. The SELECT's step up buys: a wider 3X band (adding dining and international), a slightly better Croma rate, a ₹3,000 welcome voucher instead of ₹500, and the ₹9,000 milestone ladder the standard card does not have.
Break-even on the ₹2,500 fee difference is essentially the milestone ladder alone — clear ₹2 lakh and the first rung plus the fee reversal already repays it. If you will spend ₹2 lakh+ a year, the SELECT is clearly better; below that, the ₹499 card does the same job on rates.
Tata Card SELECT vs Tata Neu Infinity
Both are Tata cards, and they are easy to confuse.
| **Tata Card SELECT** | Tata Neu Infinity SBI Card | |
|---|---|---|
| Annual fee | ₹2,999 | ₹1,499 |
| Fee reversal | ₹2,00,000 | **None** |
| Currency | Empower Points (₹1) | NeuCoins (₹1) |
| Tata brands | Up to 5% (ceiling) | **5% stated** |
| Base rate | 1% | **1.5%** |
| UPI earns | Not stated | **Yes, at full rate** |
| Grocery / dining | **3%** | 1.5% |
| Milestones | **₹9,000** | None |
| Lounge | None | 8 domestic + international |
Different strengths. The SELECT wins on the 3% grocery and dining band and the ₹9,000 voucher ladder. The Infinity wins on base rate, UPI inclusion and lounge access — and costs half as much, though its fee is never reversed.
Is the Tata Card SELECT Worth It?
Yes, if you will spend ₹4–5 lakh a year. The voucher ladder returns ₹9,000, the fee reverses at ₹2 lakh, and 3% uncapped on grocery, departmental stores and dining is a strong everyday rate in a currency worth a full rupee.
Yes, if grocery and dining are big for you. 3% uncapped on those, plus 1% on everything else, holds up well against SBI's own premium cards.
No, if your annual spend is under ₹2 lakh. The fee will not be reversed, the milestone ladder goes unclaimed, and the ₹499 Tata Card pays the same base rate and the same Tata-outlet ceiling.
No, if you want lounge access. Neither Tata Card has one. SBI Card PRIME at the same ₹2,999 gives eight domestic and four international visits.
Verify the "up to 5%". Tata does not publish the per-outlet schedule, so the ceiling may not apply where you shop.
Frequently Asked Questions
What is the annual fee of the Tata Card SELECT? ₹2,999 plus GST, on joining and renewal. The renewal fee is reversed at ₹2,00,000 of annual spend.
What is the reward rate? Up to 5% at Tata outlets (a ceiling, not a rate), 2% at Croma, 3% on grocery, departmental stores, dining and international spends, and 1% on everything else. No caps on any rate.
What is an Empower Point worth? ₹1 — Tata states it outright. That makes Empower Points worth four times an ordinary SBI Reward Point.
Is the 5% at Tata outlets guaranteed? No. Tata's wording is "up to 5%", and it does not publish the per-outlet schedule. Verify the rate at the brands where you actually shop.
What are the milestone benefits? A ₹3,000 e-gift voucher at each of ₹2 lakh, ₹4 lakh and ₹5 lakh of annual spend — ₹9,000 if all three are cleared — from Yatra, Hush Puppies/Bata, Westside or Aditya Birla Retail.
Does the anniversary voucher arrive in year one? No. It is earned on the previous year's spend, so a first-year cardholder gets nothing from it. The ₹3,000 welcome voucher covers year one instead.
Does the card offer lounge access? No. Neither Tata Card has a lounge programme or insurance.
How does it compare with the Tata Neu Infinity SBI Card? The SELECT wins on the 3% grocery and dining band and its ₹9,000 voucher ladder. The Infinity costs half as much, pays a higher 1.5% base rate that includes UPI, and adds lounge access — but its fee is never reversed.

